Building Business By Helping Others Market Locally!

This past year has been very hard on a lot of businesses. The construction trades have hit new lows here in El Dorado County, I’ve heard that 18-22% of those in the construction trades are unemployed. I feel for these families.

 Tromler Construction has been very fortunate in keeping busy through these times. Why? Well we believe that we produce a quality product. We will not do a second-rate job, even if it means losing money on that job. Our reputation is one that I take pride in. Every customer that we have had is our calling card for more business. There are other reasons we have stayed busy.

I believe that good things happen to those who help others. Some call it Karma. I think of it as just helping others to succeed. It comes in a lot of different forms, at different times. I may see my neighbor struggling to get the garbage out and help him. It may be that my brother needs some shelves put up before the big party. Seems lately that it is more along the lines of helping local business better market themselves.

I not a professional marketer, I’m a general contractor. Building and repairing has been my occupation for 25+ years; started by working my way through college. My degree in accounting has never been put to use in my career. As a self-employed, small business owner, you have to learn a bunch of things to keep the jobs coming in. One of those things is marketing. Maybe I can help others by showing them how to market their business. Not for money, just to be helpful. Let me show you some of the things that I am talking about.

On Yelp (a review site for local businesses), I came across a local business that I am very familiar with and wrote a review. The business, Bell Roofing, didn’t get a phone call, text, e-mail or anything else from me telling them what a great deed that I did, I just did it with nothing expected in return. If  Tromler Construction does get a review from someone through Yelp, I would hope that it is because I deserve it – not because someone owes me one. I can’t tell you how many times I get the  ” I will link you if you link me” baloney. Link, comment, review, tweet, fan, (or anything else) because you want to.

 Here is another example. I have noticed a trend forward video marketing lately and was hoping to work on some of my own. While on a apartment job site for several weeks, I noticed that the trees were beginning to change colors and thought that this would be the perfect time to make a video for the apartment community. So I did. They loved it, I was impressed with my first attempt. It was used by the community in their online marketing, and even led to families moving in. WOW!

I learned a lot from making that video for them, things that I would not have been able to do without trying to help. There was no pressure to make the perfect video, they didn’t even know I was making one. There was no expectations of getting result from the video, the video is the only one they have. Although I am a general contractor, it is fun getting outside myself and doing something different. And boy was it satisfying.

If you search Google videos for “apartments for rent”  in this city, it ranks #1. The word got out at the property management company and others were asking that I do the same for them. I’ve since done three more. Then came the Karma thing, people were calling with work that needed to be done. Construction work. Dry rot, water damage, decks, siding, bathrooms, kitchens; none of it was the direct result of making videos. But I can’t help think that somehow I was being repaid. I one thing that I am sure of though.

I am extremely grateful for how things turn out when I do the right things for others.

 We are on Facebook, make us a Fan!

Comment if you wish….

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

